Category: News

171 posts in Category: News

Viewing All Blog Posts

Walking Tour of Lisbon’s Painful Legacy of Slavery



“‘[This is] the other side of Portugal that isn’t well-known—the African side of it,’ Gaglo says. ‘In Europe, slavery is not taught the way it should be. I’m just trying to uncover what the secrets are and educate people about an important part of the history.'” Naky Gaglo’s tour also highlights Lisbon’s current African communities. Read more at Atlas Obscura.

Gabe Bump’s Book Deal of the Day at Publisher’s Marketplace!



Disquiet Program Assistant Gabe Bump’s brilliant and important novel goes big. Deal of the day at Publisher’s Marketplace…

DEAL OF THE DAY

Fiction: Debut:

University of Massachusetts-Amherst MFA graduate Gabriel Bump’s EVERYWHERE YOU DON’T BELONG, following a young black man who comes of age in South Shore, Chicago, where he navigates abandonment, police brutality, riots, teenage love, and familial obligations, and finds himself stuck in a constant search for a place to belong, pitched in the vein of Justin Torres, Junot Diaz and Paul Beatty, to Kathy Pories at Algonquin, in a six-figure deal, in a pre-empt, in a two-book deal, by Alexa Stark at Trident Media Group (World)

Three-time Disquieter Lara Gularte’s new book!



Congratulations, Lara Gularte, on KISSING THE BEE!!

“Poetry. California Interest. Azorean culture. Lusophone Diaspora. KISSING THE BEE is Lara Gularte’s first and long overdue collection of poetry to be published in a standard edition. To gain access to the significance of her poetry requires an understanding of the poet’s cultural heritage out of whose true diaspora of Portuguese and Lusophone speaking people molded her perception as a poet. Born in 1947 in San Jose, California where she grew up, her family came from the Azore Islands to look for gold in California during the 1800s and 1900s. Failing to find gold and “strike it rich,” her family turned to ranching to make a living. Her great, grandmother Maria Cabral-Neves, came to Fort Jones, California as a mail-order bride during this period, and today her homestead, remains a local landmark. Lara has memories as a young girl of her great grandmother telling her stories about the old country. As an adult she became curious about her heritage and explored family history. In so doing, she used the writing of poetry as a means to express what she learned about her family and culture.”

Pick up a copy!

Explore Disquiet International

Subscribe

Keep up to date on news and events.

Disquiet

610 S. Pleasant St., Amherst, MA 01002 Tel (813) 257-5028

DISQUIET is a project of US-based Dzanc Books and the Portuguese Centro Nacional de Cultura with support from the Luso-American Development Foundation and many other organizations that make it possible for DISQUIET to offer, if we don’t say so ourselves, an incomparably immersive experience in literary and cultural Lisbon.

Brought to You By


DZANC Books
Centro Nacional de Cultura

In Partnership With


Fundacao Luso-Americana

Sponsors


DISQUIET is made possible by the generous contributions of our sponsors.

Design © 2014 DQuinn.net