Past Winners & Finalists

Tertiary Navigation

The 2023 DISQUIET Literary Prize Winners

Fiction and Grand Prize Winner: “Animals After Dark” by Avigayl Sharp

(will be published in

Avigayl Sharp is a writer from Chicago. Her fiction has appeared in The Paris Review, New England Review, and DIAGRAM, among other publications, and has received support or recognition from the Granum Foundation, the Bridport Prize, and the Miami Book Fair Emerging Writer Fellowships. In 2022, she was named runner-up in the Desperate Literature Short Fiction Prize. She received her MFA from the Michener Center for Writers in Austin, Texas, where she was the fiction editor of Bat City Review. She now lives in Brooklyn and is an assistant editor at American Short Fiction. 


Swathi Desai, “An Offering to the Gods”

Brynne Jones, “The Troop Leader”

Nonfiction Winner: “Kingdom Cash & Glossolalia” by Tiana Clark

(will be published in

Tiana Clark is the author of the poetry collection, I Can’t Talk About the Trees Without the Blood (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2018), winner of the 2017 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize, and Equilibrium (Bull City Press, 2016), selected by Afaa Michael Weaver for the 2016 Frost Place Chapbook Competition. Clark is a winner for the 2020 Kate Tufts Discovery Award (Claremont Graduate University), a 2019 National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellow, and the 2015 Rattle Poetry Prize. She is a recipient of the 2021-2022 Amy Lowell Poetry Traveling Scholarship and 2019 Pushcart Prize. Her writing has appeared in or is forthcoming from The New Yorker, Poetry Magazine, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Virginia Quarterly Review, Tin House, Kenyon Review, American Poetry Review, Oxford American, The Best American Poetry 2022, and elsewhere. She teaches at the Sewanee School of Letters. She is the Grace Hazard Conkling Writer-in-Residence at Smith College.


Charisse Baldoria, “Learning to be Filipino”

Wiam El-Tamami, “This Shattering”

Vincent Tolentino, “Fall of a Pigeon”

Kira Witkin, “Marvelous Tools”

Poetry Winner: “The Gardener” by Joshua Burton

(will be published in The Common)

Joshua Burton is a poet and educator from Houston, TX and received his MFA in poetry at Syracuse University. He is a 2019 Tin House Winter Workshop Scholar, 2019 Juniper Summer Writing Institute scholarship winner, 2019 Center for African American Poetry and Poetics fellowship finalist, received the Honorable Mention for the 2018 Toi Derricotte and Cornelius Eady Chapbook Prize, 2020 Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing finalist, and a 2023 Elizabeth George Foundation grant recipient. His work can be found in Mississippi Review, Gulf Coast, The Rumpus, Conduit, TriQuarterly, Black Warrior Review, Grist, and Indiana Review. His chapbook Fracture Anthology is currently out with Ethel and his debut poetry collection Grace Engine is forthcoming in the spring of 2023 with the University of Wisconsin Press.


Meryl Altman

Bryan Alexander Byrdlong

Meghan Dunn

Alixen Pham

Austin Tucke

2023 Luso-American FLAD Fellowship Winners

With special thanks to our partner Fundação Luso-Americana, Disquiet is proud to offer these fellowships to writers of Luso descent. All winners will receive free accommodation, travel stipend, and tuition for the 2023 Disquiet program in Lisbon. 

Winner: JD Debris

JD Debris is the author of The Scorpion’s Question Mark, winner of the 2022 Donald Justice Prize. He received his MFA from New York University, where he was a Goldwater Fellow. His work has received further awards from Ploughshares and Narrative.

Winner: Nina Ferraz

Nina Ferraz grew up in Floresta, Pernambuco, Brazil. She holds an MD in ObGyn, an MA in Literature and is currently an MFA candidate in Creative Writing at New York University. Her work has been supported by Goldwater, CAPES, CNPQ, and other fellowships, and has appeared in The Westchester Review, Longleaf Review, Washington Square Review and elsewhere. Her short story “The Hot Pitch Under” was nominated for Sonder Press’ 2022 Best Small Fictions anthology. She has taught English and Portuguese as second languages, and currently teaches creative writing to undergraduates at New York University.

Winner: Jeremy Klemin

Processed with VSCO with l4 preset

Jeremy Klemin is an essayist and translator. His work appears or is forthcoming in AGNI, The AtlanticThe Iowa ReviewThe New RepublicThe New York Times,The New York Times Book Review, and elsewhere. He is an editor of Joyland Magazine’s Consulate section, and also writes a column for the Cerebral Palsy Research Network. He is a Tin House Summer Workshop alum, and his work has been supported by fellowships from the Fulbright Program, The Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, and Phi Beta Kappa. A nonfiction MFA student at Oregon State University, he’s currently working on a memoir in essays about disability, skateboarding, and public space.

Winner: Daniel Marco Martins

Born and raised in Southeast Massachusetts, Daniel Marco Martins is a fiction writer born of Portuguese parents from St. Michael, Azores. His work is inspired by his experience of growing up in one of the largest Luso diasporas in the United States. Currently residing in Boston, Massachusetts, he is an MFA student in Creative Writing at Eastern Kentucky University’s Bluegrass Writers Studio.

Luso-American FLAD Fellowship Finalists

Lindsey Baker Bower
Lissa Batista
Jessica Beasley
Kelly Dalke
Sylvia Fox
Jennifer Galvão
Emma Gilchrist
Juliet McShannon
Melinda Medeiros
Christian Mendonça
Fernanda Santos
Melissa Sullivan
Vincent Tolentino
Kate Vieira
Casey Walker