Past Winners & Finalists

Tertiary Navigation

International Literature Award Winner 2012 (selected by Colson Whitehead):

“American Nurse” by Kaitlin Solimine

ILA 2013 Finalists:

  • “The Mad Gasser of Mattoon” by Brendan Bowles
  • “Man Smart / Woman Smarter” by David Garvin
  • “Gold” by Lindsay Merbaum
  • “Spirit of Gravity” by Jim Ruland
  • “The Fragrant Smoke of Aspand Seeds” by J. Kevin Shushtari
  • “Do You Realize?” by Tess Wheelwright
  • “Pilgrims to a Vanishing River” by Sarah Wetzel
  • “Monumental” by Monika Zobel

 Luso-American Scholarship Winners:

  • Sarah Chaves
  • Jarita Davis
  • Megan Fernandes

Congratulations to all our scholarship winners and the contest winners and finalists!

Explore Disquiet International


Keep up to date on news and events.


610 S. Pleasant St., Amherst, MA 01002 Tel (813) 257-5028

DISQUIET is a project of US-based Dzanc Books and the Portuguese Centro Nacional de Cultura with support from the Luso-American Development Foundation and many other organizations that make it possible for DISQUIET to offer, if we don’t say so ourselves, an incomparably immersive experience in literary and cultural Lisbon.

Brought to You By

Centro Nacional de Cultura

In Partnership With

Fundacao Luso-Americana


DISQUIET is made possible by the generous contributions of our sponsors.

Design © 2014