Robert Olmstead


ROBERT OLMSTEAD is the author of seven novels, the memoir STAY HERE WITH ME, and RIVER DOGS, a collection of short stories.  His three most recent novels, known as the Childs Trilogy: COAL BLACK HORSE, FAR BRIGHT STAR, and THE COLDEST NIGHT, have been optioned by Casey Affleck.  FAR BRIGHT STAR, declared one of the top ten westerns of the decade by Booklist, will be directed by Affleck and star Joaquin Phoenix. Olmstead’s many awards include two Ohioana Book Awards, Amazon Top 100, Kirkus Top 25, Publisher’s Weekly Top 100, a Spur Award for Best Novel from the Western Writers of America, Chicago Tribune Heartland Prize for Fiction, a #1 Pick Booksense, Senior Arts Fellowships from Ohio and Pennsylvania, Idaho Press Club Award and Black Warrior Review Fiction Award, as well as Fellowships from the NEA and the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation.  In 2017 his novel Savage Country was published by Algonquin Books.

Explore Disquiet International


Keep up to date on news and events.


610 S. Pleasant St., Amherst, MA 01002 Tel (813) 257-5028

DISQUIET is a project of US-based Dzanc Books and the Portuguese Centro Nacional de Cultura with support from the Luso-American Development Foundation and many other organizations that make it possible for DISQUIET to offer, if we don’t say so ourselves, an incomparably immersive experience in literary and cultural Lisbon.

Brought to You By

Centro Nacional de Cultura

In Partnership With

Fundacao Luso-Americana


DISQUIET is made possible by the generous contributions of our sponsors.

Design © 2014